10 IUSD Teachers Awarded Grants For Innovation

Cox Communications has awarded $50,000 for “Innovation in Education” grants to 20 Orange County teachers, including 10 from Irvine.

The annual grant program invites teachers to submit classroom projects that reflect one of the following areas: skills-based learning; STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art/design and mathematics); digital literacy; and cyber citizenship.

“The program is part of the investment commitment Cox has had to education since our founding,” says Sam Attisha, senior vice president and region manager for Cox Communications.

The honored IUSD teachers include Kaitlynn Cooper, Cypress Village Elementary; Kelley Hedstrom and Korinne Kornmann, Loma Ridge Elementary; Gina Bowlen, Turtle Rock Elementary; Frances Hernandez, Portola Springs Elementary; Karen Sposato and Ruthy Fong Loi, Cadence Park School; Kathie Wilhelm, Santiago Hills Elementary; Kathryn Scholl, Brywood Elementary; and Lorelei Fabro, Woodbury Elementary.

Connect With Us

"*" indicates required fields

By registering you are agreeing to the Irvine Company Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.